Banquet for Traitors

Could pride be so pervasive?

I see the table
Set before me
And my Host

And what could betray
This perfect sight
Grace and Hope

I clutch my dagger
Hidden from view
And He spoke

“All mine is now yours
Under my roof
You may rest”

Straight at him I flew
O’re bread and wine
Knife in chest

As knowing eyes met
Pale blue lips pushed
Last request

“Perfection is yours
Take if you wish
You are free”

I turn, blood soaked feast
Embodying
His last plea

I stride past and out
Spit on the chance
Condescend

The feast still remains
No matter what
I intend

“And know that I Am
With you always
Till the end”

Leave a Reply

