Vulnerability and Power

Week 3 of our collaboration presents us with vulnerability and power as the topics. You can check out Ruth’s thoughts on these two topics here.

As for me, I have some purging to do. And to be honest I am not sure if it is a lack of skill necessary to accurately articulate my thoughts, or a lack of motivation to sift through them all right now, but my purge shall come in poem form. Seemingly ironic that this comes on vulnerability week.

Nervous Soul

What if I were to say
That I am not what I seem

That these things that I proclaim
Are less a reality
And more a dream

What if I were to tell you
I do not practice what I preach

I put this pen to paper
And my actions on life’s canvas
A clear distinction between each

What if I were to beg
To get down on both my knees

I know my true self is behind this door
I just need you to point out the lock
And supply me the keys

What if I were to say
That I think I am just like you

Dancing with these tepid motions
While on my true treasures
Both moth and rust accrue

What if I were to tell you
That I think this is the last straw

I will open up the floodgates
Expose my soul to world
Come one, come all!

What if I were to beg
And seek forgiveness for my sins

If vulnerability is the key
To having true power over me
Then I submit, and await my cleanse

Leave a Reply

