Not What Loves You

The music is loudest
When you are straddling my mind

I swear color changed
When we shared our time

Or perhaps my memory is broken
Washing out your smile over its boundary line

Beauty I’d call vivid
The brightness! The glare!
I have to squint to view
Experiences that were never fair
You are what you love
Not what loves you

Fairness is a broken concept
One I’ve learned to ignore

Pierced hand outstretched
I’ve been here before

Only I was rebuking, not begging
There was never a lock on this door

Every ideal is anchored around this
The depth! The solidarity!
Still not forced, but mine to choose
I must first accept His divine parity
You are what you love
Not what loves you

I’m before a naked soul
A room away from innocence embodied

I see myself in her, echoes of another
Love for which I lobbied

I feel His hand let go
Free spirits will dance here, not copied

I’m helpless before a landslide
The Truth! The pain!
Visceral desire’s hue
Though that chair held us in vain

You are what you love
Not what loves you

Leave a Reply

