Only Tones (Ostensible Reprise)

So many lives
I’ll never know
So many paths
I’ll never see
So many stamps upon an existence
So very much larger than me

People wandering worlds
Beyond the horizon of my life
And to think of all these foreign familiars
One could be my wife

Those that could have loved me so
With a blazing heart and honest glow
I’ll never think to miss them
Never given provision to know

But of all the people
And all the grace
That has ever chanced
To face my face
None has stepped with
Quite the care as to
Leave no trace yet
Hold my stare with
Such gentle strength

Upon actions imbued-
An impact changing my configuration
While leaving my whole intact

Everything that doesn’t matter
Doesn’t
Songs I’ll never hear

Everything that does:
Only tones

You stand Within and
Providing the lyrics
Above

Leave a Reply

