Amphibious

There are holes in this lake
My vessel it won’t take, the
Water is pouring out through
Punctures with reverse flow.

Physics seems to be napping
Along with my consciousness as it’s
Grasping at straws to explain why the water
Doesn’t just devour my pain.

It is a watery grave I crave!
Not this tortured existence to which
I’m enslaved. Someone pass me a pale
To scoop the water in! I replaced the life
Jackets with bricks for a reason, to
Put an end to this voyage that began
Long ago.

The unknowable resilience
Of connection once created
Rears its ugly head only
When it is threatened with extinction.

The hull with holes riddled, my lungs filled
Though death has forgotten its distinction.

Leave a Reply

