Faded Stretch

I line high drive
With thoughts of you
Knocking them over
One by one as my
Headlights make the
Turns, revealing nothing
But ghosts

Music fills the cab

“You’ll find me in the morning, hidden within the rose
Down beneath the great lake, up where the jackdaw crows
My grandfather did ask me, do you know what you have done
There were ripples in the water
I found them when you were young”

Thoughts of you
Falling, giving way
To the flood

The horizon of my
Drive outlined by
The faded stretch
Of the star soaked sky
Accenting my fall in
And out of reflections

I think we are built to forget

I think we are built to discover

I think sometimes we stumble upon times
We hope to one day share

Leave a Reply

