Cherry Wine

i’ve got sugar
in my lungs
and lilies
in my skin
and you have maps
in your bones
to places I’ve never been

when 3 am hits
and our voices are mixed
of staggered breaths
and cherry wine
i tell my thoughts
to ghosts in the walls

and your fingers on my lips
while you stumble
to say, to speak
while you stumble
to reach what could only
mean, what could only mean-

you wholeheartedly trust that
voice within, while I know mine
leads to dead places I’ve already
been

-what could only mean the end.

Leave a Reply

