Beg Your Pardon

I’ll use you as a thermometer
When my temperature rises I know it is better to stay in

I’ll use you as a periscope
A look up into the existence that awaits me if my conscience was buoyant

I’ll use you as a neon sign
Affirmation as obvious as the subtext my mind paints over flashing rusted green

I’ll use you as a lamp shade
Present in every memory even to just sit in the corner collecting dust

I’ll use you as a point of reference
To ground myself in something other than my heart’s fumes

The sense we talk ourselves into and the sense that chases us out.

I’ll use you as a reminder of all the lessons spent teaching myself how discardable promises are

2 thoughts on “Beg Your Pardon

Leave a Reply

